Customer reviews for Icon Icon Stryker Rig

Icon Icon Stryker Rig

Icon Stryker Rig Looking for a flagship product in impact protection Look no further. We used every resource at our disposal to make the Stryker Rig our most comprehensive impact protection package to date. First, we loaded it up with enough tactical protective features to exceed the worlds toughest standards. The two-piece CE approved shoulders and elbows offer maximum coverage while their D3O inserts provide incredible impact dispersion. The CE approved articulating back protector is aided by a special D3O insert with molded air channels. Speaking of air, the injection-molded chest plate features integrated air intakes while the chassis is made with Airmesh and Hydradry to help wick away moisture. The fit can be tailored with adjustable waist and elbow straps, and stretch materials help to reduce arm pump and fatigue. The Stryker Rig Impact Protection from the inside out. APPROVED STRYKER BACK ARMOR WITH D3O BREATHABLE INSERT APPROVED ELBOW PROTECTION WITH D3O BREATHABLE INSERTS APPROVED SHOULDER PROTECTION WITH D3O BREATHABLE INSERTS INJECTION MOLDED CHEST PLATE WITH INTEGRATED AIR INTAKES ARTICULATING INJECTION MOLDED HARD BACK ARMOR WITH AIR FLOW CHANNELS ADJUSTABLE WAIST STRAPS FOR A SECURE FIT THUMBHOLES HOLD SLEEVES IN PLACE BACK PROTECTOR AND ADJUSTABLE WAIST STRAPS ARE REMOVABLE ADJUSTMENT STRAP SECURES ELBOW ARMOR IN PLACE BIOFOAM AND AIRMESH CHASSIS
Overall rating:
4.765 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 16(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Icon Stryker Rig
Review 1 for Icon Stryker Rig
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well Made & Comfy

PostedApril 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Wotzit2Ya
From Brisbane Australia
Rider Type:Cafe Racer
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Protection & Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Air Flow 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very comfortable , well thought out , good workmanship , lots of adjustment . I also own an Alpine Star bionic II rig , and much prefer the Stiker , it's more cofortable and seems to offer better protection , specially for your back . Somehow it also looks far less "knobby'' than the Alpine rig . Very Happy . I am 6'2 and have a 42'' chest , I bought the large and it fits perfectly , tho' as I mentioned there is a quite substantial range of ajustments . Buy one , you'll like it !!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Icon Stryker Rig
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

overall great product

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Customer avatar
melinko
State:PA
Rider Type:Adventurer
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Protection & Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Air Flow 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
This armor may not be the most stylish or comfortable, but when it adds that protection, it doesn't matter. I had my buddy punch it as hard as he could, it knocked the wind out of me, but i barely felt any thing. Personally, I find comfort in the fact that if I do crash, this armor will help me.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Icon Stryker Rig
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good fit, protection and ventilation

PostedAugust 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Lucky275
From Hendersonville
State:TN
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Protection & Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Air Flow 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
I've been looking for a jacket/shirt like this for a while. Protection fits where it should, and the ventilation works very well. No more being sweat soaked sitting at a light, or at the gas station. I'm 5'10" 175 w/ 40" chest and M/L fits just right with plenty of room for adjustment for smaller or larger riders.. Straps on the foreams, shoulders and the thumbholes keep everything in place. Icon ships these on a hanger and it has a tendency to stretch and put undue pressure on the shoulder seams of the shirt. The protective gear is too heavy for the shirt to be hung up. Had to return my first one because the stitching was coming loose. 2nd one is fine. Have not tried it on under my leathers yet, but should fit nicely. All things considered very happy with the purchase.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Icon Stryker Rig
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really well designed.

PostedOctober 11, 2012
Customer avatar
PDXgearhoarder
From Portland
State:OR
Rider Type:Road Warrior
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Protection & Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Air Flow 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit
Small
Slightly Large
Large
Love how well made this thing is. Great job, Icon.
Rides: 2008 Harley Davidson XL1200N Sportster 1200 Nightster
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Icon Stryker Rig
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great hot weather protection.

PostedMay 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Daneg6
From Cathedral City
State:CA
Rider Type:Moto Enthusiast
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Protection & Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Air Flow 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I live in the Palm Springs desert area so by spring my leather jacket is unusable. Now there is only so much you can do about 100+ degree weather but one thing is for sure this thing flows a lot of air. Whatever sweat I build up at a stop light is quickly wicked away once I start back up again. The only area you will build up sweat is under the waistband. I usually just pull on the waist band a bit and I can feel the moisture dry out. Only down side is the Velcro on the waist band will start pulling threads out all over the place. Looked brand new maybe a month, I ride everyday to and from work.
Rides: 2003 Honda CBR954RR
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Icon Stryker Rig
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice

PostedMay 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Amose44
From Freeport
State:NY
Rider Type:Road Warrior
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Protection & Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Air Flow 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fit
Small
Slightly Large
Large
This jacket is awesome. It's very stylish. It also has all the protection.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Icon Stryker Rig
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good features, good protection

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Worthlessmechanic
From Fruita
State:CO
Rider Type:Adventurer
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Protection & Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Air Flow 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
After i put it on i immediately could feel the great amount of protection this has, its light weight has excellent airflow and offers a great amount of maneuverability. its very comfortable and even when i'm not moving It does not overheat at all, the mesh and the stretchy material feel very durable and well made, plus there is a ridiculous amount of adjustments :D
My only problem with this is that the stitching on the thumb loops is thick so it irritates my hands in between my thumb and index when riding, so I just folded them inside the sleeves and PROBLEM SOLVED!!!
Rides: 2013 Kawasaki Ninja 650 ABS
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Icon Stryker Rig
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great flow and awesome delivery time

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Customer avatar
SwooshTat
From Hampton Roads
State:VA
Rider Type:Kneedragger
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Protection & Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Air Flow 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you have done any research on this you will notice there is no sale price anywhere. Revzilla's shipping and delivery time was incredible... I think it was at my door in 3 days!
So far, I have only ridden with this a couple of times to/from work... which means I have a big backpack full of work clothes which blocks some of the airflow, but the comfort and air flow felt great even when restricted.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Icon Stryker Rig
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Customization to your body using latches, looks great.

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Digginurgrave
From Dhaka, Bangladesh
Rider Type:Hyper Miler
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Protection & Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Air Flow 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This is my first protective product. I always ride around in blistering 90-100 deg heat, so an armored leather is not advisable. The "Hydradry" textile really works like a mobile air conditioner when you start moving.
The shoulder, and elbow armor fits just right, when you adjust using the velcro straps to tighten the spot, while still allowing comfortable movement of your upper body during riding.
Haven't had the unfortunate event of testing it's protection, but I am confident it will keep me safe.
Lastly, it looks fantastic. You'll get two types of compliments, 1) on how futuristic and awesome the jacket looks 2) how much splendid looking upper body muscle you have. The latter is caused by the perfectly placed armour, and specially the waist straps, which tighten my pudge, and make me look like I have washboard abs.
Delightful.
Note: I ride a Yamaha R15, similar to the YZF125, not listed on Revzilla.
Rides: 2009 Vespa LX 150
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
Shark Evoline 3 ST Moovit Lumi Helmet
4.4 out of 5(37)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Icon Stryker Rig
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Customer avatar
Mexicankneedragger
Rider Type:Kneedragger
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Protection & Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Air Flow 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit
Small
Slightly Large
Large
Excellent quality, very comfortable, with a good protection.
The price is very good, the delivery was fast and I received a great service !
I will use this site for ordering in the future. Product arrived in perfect condition, exactly what I had ordered.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Icon Stryker Rig
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent

PostedDecember 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Bdad
State:NJ
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Protection & Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Air Flow 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't go wrong with this. Protection in most important areas. Can wear a variety of jackets and still feel confident.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Icon Stryker Rig
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Icon Stryker® is the best rig available. Period.

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Customer avatar
JACQ
State:OH
Rider Type:Adventurer
Age:25-34
Bang for the Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Protection & Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Air Flow 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
I wear this under my Icon leather jacket, you will find that you will need to remove your impact armor in the shoulder and arm from your leathers, for a more comfortable fit, if your going to wear your Icon Stryker® rig underneath.
I wear this when offloading as well, it can get a little hot, but it has great air flow, as long as your moving. It will wick away moisture with it's sweat mitigating fabric, and provides superior back, chest, arm and shoulder protection. The thumb loops hold the armor in place when your getting into your leathers or textile jackets.
Also something to note, I wear a LG Icon Carbon lifefrorm helmet, which is a fairly huge helmet in comparison to the low profile helmets such as your array of Shoei, Arai, AVG ect. Icon helmets are huge, you will look like an alien, however they are of the best designed, most comfortable, lightweight. It's a premium brand, and of the highest quality.
However that being said, when your wear armor under your jacket, these larger helmets make it very difficult to turn your head, it seems as though the chin area of the helmet catches on your collar bone area when trying to peek over your shoulders.
For street use, it can be difficult to see. So keep this in mind, when buying armor, if you use a larger sized helmet brand.
Rides: 2007 Honda CBR600RR
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
Icon Airframe Carbon Lifeform Helmet
4.8 out of 5(24)
 
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Icon Stryker Rig
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A must have if you want armored protection and stay cool too

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Jrock518
From Upstate
State:NY
Rider Type:Kneedragger
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Protection & Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Air Flow 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I just purchased the Icon Stryker Rig, and could not be happier, I wanted all the protection of a jacket with out sweating to death in the summer heat. This rig is not only comfortable but easily adjustable and provides better protection then my jacket, and can easily rock my vest without sacrificing my arm and elbow and shoulder protection. This product lives up to everything they say it will on this site, and the turn around shipping was FAST FAST FAST and free <3 the crew at Revzilla, spot on reviews and accurate descriptions amazing customer service.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Icon Stryker Rig
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I really wanted to love it

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Customer avatar
TRide
From Telluride
State:CO
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Protection & Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Air Flow 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit
Small
1 Size Large
Large
I just received the Stryker Rig today. I tried it on and loved everything about it, except the fit. I am 6' 175 lbs. and ordered the Med/Lg (the smallest available). Normally I am in between a medium and large, but with this, it was way too big in the neck and shoulders. The shoulder pads drooped down way too much and the sleeves felt a touch too long. If I tightened the front shoulder strap adjustments, it just bunched up too much in the neck and pulled the shoulder pads too far forward. At first I thought: no big deal, I'll just return it for a smaller size. Then I noticed that this WAS the smallest size. I am disappointed that I have to return it, but it just doesn't fit.
Rides: 2014 Kawasaki KLR650
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Icon Stryker Rig
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product. Warm weather must have

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Customer avatar
l3gg0my3ggr0ll
From Houston
State:TX
Rider Type:Road Warrior
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Protection & Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Air Flow 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit
Small
Slightly Large
Large
The mesh cloth material that icon uses is stretchy and breaths very well. All the protection gear fits very well. I would've like for the cloth part of the rig to close around my neck more since my shirts are tighter around my neck and so they show but other than that, great product.
Rides: 2009 Triumph Daytona 675
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Icon Stryker Rig
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

air flow is great for those hot days

PostedApril 7, 2014
Customer avatar
NightRider420
From San Diego
State:CA
Bang for the Buck 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Protection & Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Air Flow 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i bought this jacket because my textile jacket was not cutting it on airflow, so i found this jacket which gets a lot of airflow. i have to say it look as if its for paint balling with all the armor on it but then again it does make me feel safer riding in it then my textile jacket did, with its rubber and foam inserts. it is very adjustable with its shoulder straps and stomach strap to help keep the back protector in place. it also moves around very nicely. i wear a vans zip up jacket on top of the armor when i ride and i love how there is never any binding or catching of the fabric with the armor as to limit your movement while riding. i recommend this if you live somewhere hot and you don't want to ride unprotected.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Icon Stryker Rig
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great would buy again

PostedApril 24, 2014
Customer avatar
TheDon91
Rider Type:Stuntman
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Protection & Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Air Flow 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fit
Small
Slightly Large
Large
I bought this item as i am stunt riding it is comfortable and breaths very easily i have not had any problems of getting to hot with this product it does fit a little large but that is just due to the sizing but the adjustable straps help a lot to make it a better fit i recommend this product if you need Armour that feels great and looks amazing.
Rides: 2013 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R ZX636
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.