Customer reviews for Bell Helmets Bell Drifter DLX Helmet - Solid

Bell Helmets Bell Drifter DLX Helmet - Solid

Bell Drifter DLX Helmet - Solid Featuring Bells innovative Speed Dial adjustable fit system, the Drifter DLX is a breakthrough in half shell helmet comfort and style. Just put on the helmet and turn the dial on the adjustment system for a perfect fit, even with your gloves on. This system not only provides a high level of comfort, it also drastically reduces the tendency for half shell helmets to lift off of the head. The Bell Drifter also features Bells ultra-low profile shell design while still passing tough DOT safety standards maximum style with no compromises. Features Lightweight, composite shell Innovative Speed Dial adjustable fit system Removable ear pads for cold weather riding Rear goggle strap Approximate weight 900g Five-year warranty
Overall rating:
4.468 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(47 reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 47 reviews
5 stars
29
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
0
43 out of 45(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Bell Drifter DLX Helmet - Solid
Review 1 for Bell Drifter DLX Helmet - Solid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great new design, a little tighter than the old one

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Gavman42
From Chicago
State:IL
Rider Type:Commuter
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Protection & Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Air Flow 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fit
Small
Slightly Small
Large
Noise Level
Quiet
Loud
Loud
Weight
Light
Very Light
Heavy
Shape
Narrow
Long Oval
Round
Vision
Narrow
Exceptionally Wide
Wide
This is my second bell drifter, I still have the original one. the ratchet in the back works great to keep it planted at speed, but because of the added parts for it the helmet fits a little snugger on the sides. The snaps and other connectors seem to be upgraded from the old one. the only thing lacking in my mind is the design, the flames and pinstripes are't really doing it for me, solid black for now.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bell Drifter DLX Helmet - Solid
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great looking, but poor quality

PostedApril 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Mcclanahanlp
From Durham
State:NC
Rider Type:Harley Diehard
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Protection & Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Air Flow 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Loud
Loud
Weight
Light
Very Light
Heavy
I have had this helmet for a few weeks now, and I am 100% displeased with the "innovative" tightening band thing that bell says is so great. It broke within the first week. And don't even think about taking this thing on a highway. At around 60 mph, this helmet rises off your head and pulls straight back, choking you with its already poorly located chin strap. But, if you're just looking for a bar hopper, then this helmet is great. I still think it looks better than most and may protect you in a low speed wreck, but looks is the only thing this helmet has going for it.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bell Drifter DLX Helmet - Solid
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great half helmet with style

PostedApril 16, 2012
Customer avatar
bartos00
From Evansville
State:IN
Rider Type:Harley Diehard
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Protection & Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Air Flow 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Noise Level
Quiet
Slightly Loud
Loud
Weight
Light
Light
Heavy
Shape
Narrow
Intermediate Oval
Round
Vision
Narrow
Wide
Wide
So I looked everywhere for a half-helmet that had some style and did not make me look like a "mushroom head". This helmet styling is awesome, a lot of attention was paid to the details in designing this helmet. This helmet is touted as being a low profile lid. Unfortunately, it still has a bit of a "mushroom" look to it, not nearly as bad as some. Honestly, I'm of the opinion that if you want a quality protective helmet that is DOT approved then you are going to deal with a bit of "mushroom head". The more I wear the helmet, the more I like it. It has some really nice snap ear covers for cold weather riding. One really cool feature is the adjuster that is located in the back of the helmet, it is easy to adjust with gloves on and it really does hold the helmet down on your head. Most half helmets have a tendency to lift when traveling at high speeds, this helmet stays put!
Bottom line, a very stylish helmet, with some nice features for a half-helmet.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bell Drifter DLX Helmet - Solid
This review is fromBell Drifter DLX Flames Helmet.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I Love it

PostedApril 23, 2012
Customer avatar
GBrown62
From Millerville
State:MD
Rider Type:Road Warrior
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Protection & Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Air Flow 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit
Small
1 Size Large
Large
Noise Level
Quiet
Average
Loud
Weight
Light
Light
Heavy
Shape
Narrow
Round Oval
Round
Vision
Narrow
Wide
Wide
First I must thank Revzilla's customer service for their professional service. I had to return the first DLX Helmet I ordered because it was a size too small and they shipped and had it's replacement at my door within 3 days later. They have won my business !!!!!
As for the helmet.....
I've been biking for over 30 years and I've been through a few handfuls of helmets but the Bell Drifter DLX is 1 of the best 1/2 helmets I've seen & worn thus far. Not only does is look sweet but the dial in fit feature makes it a perfect fit. It's DOT Approved, safe, cool looking yet very affordable.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bell Drifter DLX Helmet - Solid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great half helmet

PostedMay 29, 2012
Customer avatar
ask82
From Seattle
State:WA
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Protection & Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Air Flow 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Slightly Loud
Loud
Weight
Light
Light
Heavy
Vision
Narrow
Wide
Wide
This is a great helmet. Noise levels are about what you should expect from a half helmet. The adjuster in the back works well. The helmet is comfortable, but the chin strap needs padding.
Rides: 2001 Triumph Bonneville
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bell Drifter DLX Helmet - Solid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love it, LOOKS great.

PostedJune 4, 2012
Customer avatar
JLV75
From Madrid
Rider Type:Adventurer
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Protection & Durability 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Air Flow 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Loud
Loud
Weight
Light
Light
Heavy
Vision
Narrow
Exceptionally Wide
Wide
I baught it for my Ural motorcycle, since it has a military look. It's a great product, it fits and the innovative speed dial system is great, but to be honest I don't feel as safe as I do with my other helmets, don't get me wrong, I live in Europe and DOT approved isn't enough. And since the sides and the back of the neck are exposed I miss some coverage. You can't have it all, looks and safety some times are not compatible and in this case I wanted looks and I got them!
JV
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bell Drifter DLX Helmet - Solid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Helmut is very comfortable- once you get right size

PostedJune 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Wackyhead101
From Ukiah
State:CA
Rider Type:Harley Diehard
Age:55-64
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Protection & Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Air Flow 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fit
Small
Slightly Small
Large
Shape
Narrow
Long Oval
Round
Vision
Narrow
Average
Wide
I ended up with next size bigger because it was tight against temple area. Size larger is perfect and very comfortable! Thanks
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bell Drifter DLX Helmet - Solid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome style and exceptional comfort

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Charlieo013
From St Paul
State:MN
Rider Type:Moto Enthusiast
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Protection & Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Air Flow 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Loud
Loud
Weight
Light
Average
Heavy
Vision
Narrow
Exceptionally Wide
Wide
I ordered the matte black finish and it looks awesome. The helmet does sit lower than your average half helmet but it still feel somewhat top heavy. However, the speed dial adjustment is exceptional in terms of comfort and fit. Spin the dial and this helmet seems to mold to your head. The speed dial adjustment works so well that you could leave the chin strap undone (definitely not recommended) while cruising down the highway and this helmet is not going anywhere. This is a great buy.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bell Drifter DLX Helmet - Solid
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Value

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Mindinmyownbiz
From Indianapolis
State:IN
Rider Type:Harley Diehard
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Protection & Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Air Flow 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit
Small
Slightly Small
Large
Shape
Narrow
Long Oval
Round
Vision
Narrow
Exceptionally Wide
Wide
I am very impressed with he build and quality of this helmet. The packaging, the helmet bag, the speed dial, all of it is pure quality. A great value for $99. I think it is very plush and would be very comfortable for the right head shape. I was very impressed with this helmet, even though I had to send it back. I guess I have one of those earth shaped heads. For me it was painfully tight on the sides and loose front to back. My head at the largest point is 23.5" and I ordered a Large which (if my head was shaped for this helmet) should be correct. I wear a large in HJC and that fits perfectly. I have an original symax modular and an AC-2 half helmet. I hope this info helps others with fitment.
I'm disappointed because it really seems like a standout 1/2 helmet.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bell Drifter DLX Helmet - Solid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

i have a large head and this helmet fits great

PostedAugust 9, 2012
Customer avatar
03harley
From Hershey PA
State:PA
Rider Type:Harley Diehard
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Protection & Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Air Flow 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit
Small
1 Size Large
Large
Noise Level
Quiet
Slightly Loud
Loud
Vision
Narrow
Exceptionally Wide
Wide
i really like this helmet the adjuster works great very good fit No Problems
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bell Drifter DLX Helmet - Solid
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great passenger and bar hopping helmet

PostedSeptember 2, 2012
Customer avatar
McCloud
From South Padre Island
State:TX
Rider Type:Harley Diehard
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Style 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Comfort 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Protection & Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Air Flow 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fit
Small
Slightly Large
Large
Noise Level
Quiet
Loud
Loud
Weight
Light
Heavy
Heavy
To start I don't wear a helmet often, only when im passing through helmet required states. I bought this helmet to use for that purpose and it didnt fit the bill at all. The helmet started to lift at around 50mph, at 60 it was pulling my head back, and at 70 forget it I was trying my hardest to keep my head down. I even tried to ride in a tuck position on a 08 harley lowrider to relieve the parachute effect(doesnt work to well and comfort is about what a gorilla feels on a tricycle haha). Dont get me wrong I do like the helmet when I ride around a town that requires a helmet since its comfortable at low speeds, and it makes a perfect passanger helmet because they can use the dial so it can fit their head better. Sad to say but this helmet just wasn't for me but I hope this review helps others..
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bell Drifter DLX Helmet - Solid
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I like the helmet will buy bell again.

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Bigheadpitbull
From Boca Raton
State:FL
Rider Type:Adventurer
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Protection & Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Air Flow 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The helmet is great. I have the matted Bell drifter I like it a lot but it can get ding up if you are not careful.The best thing about the Bell drifter helmet is that the adjust in the back I love that you adjust the helmet to your liking when you are riding.
Rides: 2007 Suzuki M50 Boulevard
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bell Drifter DLX Helmet - Solid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very comfy, great fit.

PostedSeptember 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Brownie75
From Dalyellup, Western Australia
Bang for the Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Protection & Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Air Flow 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Loud
Loud
Weight
Light
Light
Heavy
Vision
Narrow
Wide
Wide
Great helmet, sits nice and low, wind slightly catches underneath at speed but it is a half helmet the dial at the back takes away the sensation of it lifting, sizing was spot on as per manufacture sizing chart. The delivery time to Australia was super quick, from placement of order to the day it arrived at my house 7 days, awesome. Will be recommending all my mates to shop at Revzilla.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bell Drifter DLX Helmet - Solid
This review is fromBell Drifter DLX Flames Helmet.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Helmet

PostedSeptember 14, 2012
Customer avatar
SurvivorDusty
From Belmont
State:CA
Rider Type:Harley Diehard
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Protection & Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Air Flow 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Loud
Loud
Weight
Light
Very Light
Heavy
Shape
Narrow
Long Narrow
Round
Vision
Narrow
Exceptionally Wide
Wide
Was getting neckpain from my full faceand it was one of the lightest one sold and I dont wear skid helmets anymore, wanted a small DOT approved lid and this helmet ROCKS.... Comfortable and Lightweight... and it even looks cool, lol
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bell Drifter DLX Helmet - Solid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A very good choice for a real DOT helmet

PostedSeptember 15, 2012
Customer avatar
MexicoMike
From Tampa
State:FL
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Protection & Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Air Flow 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Slightly Loud
Loud
Weight
Light
Average
Heavy
Shape
Narrow
Round Oval
Round
Vision
Narrow
Exceptionally Wide
Wide
Let's face it, you can't beat a novelty low-profile half-helmet or a baseball cap on backwards for looks, but this well thought out half-helmet sits fairly low and quite frankly, is the best real DOT helmet I've seen so far. It offers you good comfort at high speeds and ultimately, good skull protection.
I took it out on an extended ride (6 hours# across long bridges #with lots of wind gusts# and the ride was noticeably better than the HD half-helmet w/visor built in #Super Mushroom half-helmet!# I previously wore. Turning my head to the side to check for traffic was perfect...the with failed to upset my ride at speeds up to 70MPH #sorry, didn't get faster than that on this trip#.
MEDIUM helmets squeeze my brain too much and LARGE helmets give too much side to side pockets for a less than perfect fit. I guess I have a MEDIUM and a half head #LMAO) so the addition of the adjustable strap in the back to lock your skull into place is a great idea. I bought a LARGE, the top of my head was snug against the "ceiling" and the adjustments squeezed in comfortably against my skull for the perfect fit. Pretty slick.
No real complaints, it is what it is. If you want good protection from a half-helmet, this one does a solid job of meeting safety specs and looking pretty decent.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bell Drifter DLX Helmet - Solid
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Its a lid

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Brian71
From oceanside
State:NY
Rider Type:Commuter
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Protection & Durability 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Air Flow 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Loud
Loud
Weight
Light
Very Light
Heavy
Vision
Narrow
Exceptionally Wide
Wide
I use this on hot days nice lid, racket strap in head gear is nice. The people at revzilla are great with help and info quick shipping
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bell Drifter DLX Helmet - Solid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love it

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Customer avatar
star4574
From cranford
State:NJ
Rider Type:Harley Diehard
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Protection & Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Air Flow 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit
Small
1 Size Large
Large
first helmet that i have had that does,t lift off at speed. the only thing i would like to see is a removable shield
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bell Drifter DLX Helmet - Solid
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A great DOT helmet.

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Customer avatar
ZenVet
From Los Angeles
State:CA
Rider Type:Harley Diehard
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Style 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Protection & Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Air Flow 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Loud
Loud
Vision
Narrow
Wide
Wide
Ok, first of all, it is hard to find pictures of people wearing this helmet, but check out the Revzilla video and you can briefly see what it looks like on the head. This helmet is not as slim fitting as the non-DOT helmets you see people wearing. It sticks out about an inch all around because it has a fair amount of protection for an open face helmet. I ride a cruiser and I use a full face whenever I ride on the freeway, but if I am just cruising around town, I wear this. It is comfortable, it isn't too bulky and it fits well.
Rides: 2002 Harley Davidson FXD/I Dyna Super Glide
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bell Drifter DLX Helmet - Solid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great brain bucket

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Customer avatar
cortexdoc
From Los Angeles
State:CA
Rider Type:Kneedragger
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Protection & Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Air Flow 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Slightly Loud
Loud
Weight
Light
Light
Heavy
Vision
Narrow
Exceptionally Wide
Wide
Awesome half helmet---as in video the occipital adjustment is awesome--helmet doesn't left at all and for a brain bucket kinda helmet feels safe!
Rides: 2013 Ducati Diavel
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bell Drifter DLX Helmet - Solid
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

i love this helmet

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
Customer avatar
lightitup
State:FL
Rider Type:Adventurer
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Protection & Durability 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Air Flow 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Noise Level
Quiet
Average
Loud
Weight
Light
Light
Heavy
Vision
Narrow
Exceptionally Wide
Wide
hey i just got this and went out riding with it it felt great like it wasnt there the crank on the back is a awesome thing to have i dont like straps choking me all in all i love it and u should get one also would make a good passenger helmet because of the adjustability
Rides: 1981 Kawasaki KZ550C LTD
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>