Customer reviews for Arai Helmets Arai RX-Q Italy Helmet

Arai Helmets Arai RX-Q Italy Helmet

Designed for the street without giving up the benefits of a racing helmet. Completely new helmet based on Corsair V shell Same wider eyeport opening as Corsair V Same face shield as the Corsair V Intermediate Oval Fit (same head shape as Quantum 2) Slightly different feel due to new cheek pads. New cheek pads come down further and cradle the head better. Made of a different density material which results in an extremely comfortable and quiet helmet Advanced ventilation Smaller, More Aerodynamic shell shape Hyper-Ridge circles lower shell to improve strength and aerodynamics Retractable chin spoiler Emergency Cheek Pad Removal system along with removable neck roll One piece bottom edge trim Race helmet for the street 5 unique size shells (XS, S, M/L, XL, XXL). Meets or exceeds SNELL 2010 and DOT specifications 2010 Model
Overall rating:
4.85 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(253 reviews) 253
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 253 reviews
5 stars
217
4 stars
34
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
244 out of 247(99%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Arai RX-Q Italy Helmet
Review 1 for Arai RX-Q Italy Helmet
This review is fromArai RX-Q Hi-Viz Neon Helmet.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect.

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Customer avatar
PDXgearhoarder
From Portland
State:OR
Rider Type:Road Warrior
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Protection & Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Air Flow 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This helmet just might keep my butt alive through the winter. If it prevents even one car from cutting me off, it'll have been worth it at ten times the price.
Rides: 2006 Yamaha YZF-R1
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Arai RX-Q Italy Helmet
This review is fromArai RX-Q Oriental Helmet.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The satin finish is, well, just too nice to get bugs on.

PostedOctober 4, 2012
Customer avatar
PDXgearhoarder
From Portland
State:OR
Rider Type:Road Warrior
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Protection & Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Air Flow 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Weight
Light
Very Light
Heavy
Shape
Narrow
Round Oval
Round
Vision
Narrow
Exceptionally Wide
Wide
I don't wanna get this thing dirty. I don't even want to get this thing dusty or faded or scratched in any way. It's just so beautiful...
Rides: 2008 Harley Davidson XL1200N Sportster 1200 Nightster
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Arai RX-Q Italy Helmet
This review is fromArai RX-Q Helmet - Solid.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Another great Arai helmet

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Fred T.
From INDIANAPOLIS
State:IN
Rider Type:Gear Geek
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Protection & Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Air Flow 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was looking for another helmet to get custom painted and thought I would try something different.
I have a Corsair V which is awesome but wanted to try a different brand. I got the Shoei X-12 but wasn't crazy about the fit. Not knocking that helmet as the quality seemed awesome. I think my head is just more of an Arai shape. I sent back the Shoei and got the RXQ. I put it on....Ahhhhh, much better and typical Arai quality.
I think I will stick with Arai from here on out. I would recommend this helmet to anyone.
Rides: 2003 Honda CBR600RR
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Arai RX-Q Italy Helmet
This review is fromArai RX-Q UK Flag Helmet.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My new favorite lid

PostedMarch 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Anthony sean D.
From Highlands Ranch
State:CO
Rider Type:Adventurer
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Protection & Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Air Flow 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Loud
Weight
Light
Light
Heavy
Shape
Narrow
Round Oval
Round
Vision
Narrow
Wide
Wide
This helmet has excellent ventilation with lots of adjustments. The feel is light on the head, well balanced. Outstanding fit and finish, it is a quality product throughout.
This is my first Arai helmet, after previously owning Shoei and Scorpion. My next helmet will definitely be an Arai. I am a convert.
Rides: 2009 BMW G650GS
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Arai RX-Q Italy Helmet
This review is fromArai RX-Q Helmet - Solid.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid performer

PostedJune 11, 2013
Customer avatar
BA211
From Singapore
Rider Type:Road Warrior
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Protection & Durability 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Air Flow 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Shape
Narrow
Intermediate Oval
Round
Vision
Narrow
Wide
Wide
This is a well made helmet that is comfortable and dependable. I find the sizing is true and shape is more round to neutral which makes it a bit tight on my forehead do to my head shape.
The guts are easy to remove for cleaning. I wish the visor system were easier to use like some other brands.
I have the matte black helmet which is a beautiful finish but it is less durable than a gloss helmet, I find. It shows nicks from road debris much more easily.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Arai RX-Q Italy Helmet
This review is fromArai RX-Q Glaze Helmet.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this helmet

PostedJune 2, 2012
Customer avatar
Pinballwizzrd
From Arlington
State:VA
Rider Type:Road Warrior
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Protection & Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Air Flow 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Loud
Weight
Light
Light
Heavy
Shape
Narrow
Round Oval
Round
Vision
Narrow
Wide
Wide
I've owned a couple of high-end helmets and this one beats them all hands down. Excellent balance, comfort and style. The glaze design is sharp yet understated.
No matter what anyone says and how easy it looks in the video, swapping face shields is a little tricky but doable with not too much fussing. Expecting it will get easier with practice.
I can't recommend this helmet enough. Pricey, but the quality and style of this helmet makes it worth it. I will be sticking with Arai.
Rides: 2003 Ducati Monster 620
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Arai RX-Q Italy Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Arai RX-Q Oriental

PostedMarch 28, 2011
Customer avatar
SpeedTripleFan
From DEMING
I suppose this is more of an opinion than an objective review. I have been using an Arai VX-PRO 3 now for three years prior to purchasing this helmet so I can't say that I am not biased to Arai helmets. There are plenty of additional reviews listed under the SOLID , model of this helmet.
As for the Oriental version of this helmet. This is the first graphic model I own from Arai and graphically it is fantastic with vivid colors and suits my tastes. The base paint is actually a Black Diamond finish with the artwork on top. The artwork is done by Drudi Performance or Altro Drudi. There are not enough views on this website to really appreciate the graphics of this helmet nor are there enough on the arai usa page so I would suggest looking for more on the net.
As for the helmet itself... If you follow Arai's fitting instructions or many of the videos here @ Revzilla you have a great fitting helmet as a starting point. I wear a size small and the stock helmet fits me just fine. For some it many mean buying thinner/thicker cheeck pads and/or liner which means more money, however, it's good to know that you can acheive a custom fit rather than having no options to do so as with other helmets. I marked this as a Great Value and to me that also means the availability of replacement parts. Nearly every part of this helmet less the shell is replaceable and there are vendors out there who carry every part you can replace on this helmet. That's piece of mind for when unexpected accidents occure such as the helmet falling off your seat and cracking an air duct or scratching a side shield pod or even being impatient while trying to change out a shield not to mention replacing old wore out cheek pads, liners, and neck rolls.
If these graphics are not for you the solids offer enough additional choices as well as a handfull of different graphic choices if you are considering this helmet. The Arai RX-Q is a well made functional touring style helmet that flows plenty of air and is reasonably quiet. All in all a helmet worth the money you spend on it.
Pros Great Value, Comfortable
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Arai RX-Q Italy Helmet
This review is fromArai RX-Q Dawn Helmet.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceptional Quality Helmet.

PostedJune 13, 2013
Customer avatar
mistahchen
From Albany, CA
State:CA
Rider Type:Moto Enthusiast
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Protection & Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Air Flow 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Loud
Weight
Light
Light
Heavy
Shape
Narrow
Round Oval
Round
Vision
Narrow
Wide
Wide
This helmet is great! Super high quality and very comfortable. The liner is also very comfortable. It fits a lot tighter and closer to my face than my old HJC CL-16 helmet, but not uncomfortably so. The graphics are also really high quality. The airflow is much much better than my old helmet, and it is also significantly quieter. Loving this helmet.
Rides: 2012 Honda CBR250R
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Arai RX-Q Italy Helmet
This review is fromArai RX-Q Spencer Helmet.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I LOVE THIS HELMET!!!

PostedMay 19, 2013
Customer avatar
WindStarVictim
From Ocala
State:FL
Rider Type:Road Warrior
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Protection & Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Air Flow 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Loud
Weight
Light
Light
Heavy
Vision
Narrow
Wide
Wide
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Got the RWB Fast Freddy helmet. I love the style of this helmet a lot with my RWB VFR800. The fit and airflow is incredible here in FL you can really fit the vent working soon as you start going... Really spoils you. Well worth the money. Now my wife wants an Arai.
Rides: 2009 Suzuki GSF1250S Bandit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Arai RX-Q Italy Helmet
This review is fromArai RX-Q DNA Helmet.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Customer avatar
DonFariz
From Abu Dhabi
Rider Type:Road Warrior
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Protection & Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Air Flow 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Average
Loud
It's not cheap but worth an investment. Beautifully finished and extremely comfortable. Medium is my excellent fit. You won't regret!
Rides: 2012 Triumph Speed Triple
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Arai RX-Q Italy Helmet
This review is fromArai RX-Q Helmet - Solid.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Helmet

PostedJune 8, 2012
Customer avatar
IRideaWee
From Atlanta
State:GA
Rider Type:Adventurer
Age:35-44
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Protection & Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Air Flow 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit
Small
Slightly Small
Large
Noise Level
Quiet
Very Quiet
Loud
Weight
Light
Light
Heavy
Shape
Narrow
Round Oval
Round
Vision
Narrow
Wide
Wide
The RX-Q is a great helmet. The build quality is unmatched. This helmet is unreal quiet. It's quieter without earplugs than my previous helmet with ear plugs. It did take some time to get used to the helmets size. The XL was clearly too large and the L seemed to be correct, however I did develop hot a hot spot after an hour or so. This was relieved quite a bit by getting a thinner comfort liner. Great helmet and would recommend.
Rides: 2007 Suzuki DL650 V-Strom
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Arai RX-Q Italy Helmet
This review is fromArai RX-Q Urban Helmet.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value

PostedMarch 12, 2012
Customer avatar
elektra
From New York
State:NY
Rider Type:Commuter
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Protection & Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Air Flow 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit
Small
Slightly Small
Large
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Loud
Weight
Light
Light
Heavy
Shape
Narrow
Round Oval
Round
Vision
Narrow
Wide
Wide
I moved up from a Nolan N90 modular to the Arai RXQ as this graphic (urban) was heavily discounted. Even though its weight as listed is only a little less than the Nolan, it is so well balanced that it feels a lot lighter. Fit and Finish is spectacular. I dont care for the graphic but at this price I dont care what it looks like. Ventilation is outstanding. Compared to my Nolan it feels like Im barely wearing a helmet (and I loved my Nolan).
Arais are expensive and I dont think I would drop 600 on one, but at this value its really too good to pass up. Having had one, I doubt I will ever buy another brand. Excellent value for money in terms of comfort. The only quibble I have is the chin strap - a double ring classic style. I dod prefer the Nolan's clip which was also better padded- Nonetheless the Arai RXQ is the winner all the way. Two enthusiastic thumbs up
Rides: 2010 Kawasaki EX250F Ninja 250R
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Arai RX-Q Italy Helmet
This review is fromArai RX-Q Hi-Viz Neon Helmet.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceptionally comfortable, but not as quiet as I had hoped...

PostedJuly 18, 2011
Customer avatar
Yadba
From Blue Springs
State:MO
Rider Type:Moto Enthusiast
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Protection & Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Air Flow 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Noise Level
Quiet
Average
Loud
Weight
Light
Average
Heavy
Shape
Narrow
Intermediate Oval
Round
Vision
Narrow
Wide
Wide
This is my second Arai helmet. My first was their dual-sport XD3, which I've had for about a year.
I think I am now officially a “Lifetime Arai-Wearer.”
One of the main reasons I chose another Arai is because of how extremely comfortable my first one was. From the moment I tried on my first Arai, I was SOLD, even though I had no intention of spending over $500 for a helmet at the time. I now assume I will be spending at least that much every time.
So, I bought the RX-Q with the confidence that it would fit as well, and be as comfortable as the XD3.
I was not disappointed.
I was disappointed, though, to find that the RX-Q was not all that much quieter than the XD3. It is much more aerodynamic (looking), so I expected wind noise to be greatly reduced. It was a little bit quieter, but not much. Maybe there is no such thing as a helmet with little or no wind noise.
Ventilation is superb, though, even with the shield fully closed on a hot day (it’s been breaking 100 here for the past 2 weeks). As long as you are moving, of course. Once stopped, the shield has to come up.
Speaking of shields, I STILL have not gotten the hang of removing/installing the “Super Ad.Sis LRS” (Advanced Shield Installation System). A CD containing an “animation” of the process is included with the helmet, and the Arai web site has videos of veteran riders popping the shield off and on in a matter of seconds, but it is NOT EASY. For example, when removing the shield, you lift up levers that are supposed to click into place. But they don’t stay up – they fall back down if you look at them cross-eyed. I’m sure I will eventually get the hang of it, it just doesn’t come easy. Last Saturday, I talked to two other Arai-wearers that had the same experience.
That being said, I understand and respect Arai’s philosophy when it comes to side pods versus pod-less mounting (see http://www.araiamericas.com/default.aspx?pageid=130). I’ll gladly trade a mounting system that is a little less convenient for one that is a lot safer.
Another minor disappointment was the color of the helmet. I picked “Hi-Viz” fluorescent yellow to match my hi-viz mesh riding jacket. But next to the jacket, the Arai just looks yellow, rather than fluorescent yellow, which has a greenish tint to it (see picture). Same thing when compared to the “Speed & Strength SS2000 Twist of Fate Hi-Viz Helmet” that Revzilla carries (http://www.revzilla.com/motorcycle/speed-strength-ss2000-twist-of-fate-hi-viz-helmet). The Arai is SOMEWHAT hi-viz, but not TRULY hi-viz. Even my wife, who has little or no interest in motorcycles, commented that “your helmet and jacket don’t match”.
The helmet has great balance, by the way, and excellent stability.
In summary, I think the RX-Q is the most comfortable, cool, and safe helmet money can buy. If I had to rank the most important features in a helmet, those would be my top three. So what if it’s not quite the right yellow, or is not “whisper-quiet?”
Rides: 2009 Kawasaki KLE650 Versys
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Arai RX-Q Italy Helmet
This review is fromArai RX-Q DNA Helmet.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wow!

PostedFebruary 8, 2013
Customer avatar
HybridX
From Jacksonville
State:FL
Rider Type:Road Warrior
Age:45-54
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Protection & Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Air Flow 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Loud
Weight
Light
Light
Heavy
Shape
Narrow
Intermediate Oval
Round
Vision
Narrow
Wide
Wide
This is my second Arai helmet, I have the XD-4 as well. I bought the RX-Q DNA-White to replace my Icon Alliance. WOW! The difference between the 2 are night and day. Yes Arai is a high priced item, but so worth it. The fit and finish is top notch. Air flow is amazing, overall quality is spot on. I have a long shaped head and was worried I may need to go to the Signet-Q, but the RX-Q fit perfect. Size is true, in fact I needed to remove some of the padding in the cheek pads. (Arai has adjustable cheek pads). Would I recommend the RX-Q, oh yeah! I added the dark shield and it now looks so cool…lol
Side Note: Shield removal is a little scary at first. See youTube, “RX-Q shield removal”, for a demo.
Rides: 2006 Honda VFR800 Interceptor
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Arai RX-Q Italy Helmet
This review is fromArai RX-Q Helmet - Solid.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Q'ueue'd Up

PostedDecember 14, 2012
Customer avatar
nelyle
From SF Bay Area
State:CA
Bang for the Buck 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Protection & Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Air Flow 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Loud
Weight
Light
Light
Heavy
Shape
Narrow
Round Oval
Round
Vision
Narrow
Wide
Wide
The RX-Q is undeniably a brilliant helmet from one of the highest reputation manufacturers offering SNELL and DOT approved helmets. This particular unit has exceptional venting, great protection, and it's incredibly comfortable when it's the right fit!
My favorite feature brings peace-of-mind and it's one that I expect to become standard in the years to come: the emergency cheek pad removal system. In the event of an accident the cheek pads can easily be removed to make helmet removal safer and easier. I sincerely hope I never have to use this feature as intended, but it definitely beats having a helmet cut off your head!
Speaking of cheek pads, the ones that come standard with the helmet weren't thick enough for my thin face so I also purchased thicker cheek pads for personal comfort. The cheek pads were surprisingly difficult to install compared to SHOEI cheek pads which are easy to align since they snap in. Arai's cheek pads, on the contrary, have to be manually cajoled in order to get them aligned correctly. With that in mind, you definitely know when you've got them in right!
One of the features the RX-Q lacks that its longer and narrower sibling, the Signet-Q, offers is pinlock. One can expect to spend an additional $100 adding the pinlock ready face shield and single insert despite the fact that the Signet-Q MSRP is only $30 more than the RX-Q. Keep in mind, however, that the fit of one's helmet is far more important than the features!
Rides: 2005 Suzuki SV650
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Arai RX-Q Italy Helmet
This review is fromArai RX-Q Urban Helmet.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent helmet

PostedMarch 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Chris128
From Virginia Beach
State:VA
Rider Type:Moto Enthusiast
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Protection & Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Air Flow 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Weight
Light
Light
Heavy
The RX-Q is an awesome helmet. It is very stable at speed both when looking straight and checking over the shoulder. It is also very comfortable and feels very light, like the center of gravity of the helmet is positioned low. There is plenty of ventilation and the noise level is reasonable.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Arai RX-Q Italy Helmet
This review is fromArai RX-Q Urban Helmet.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Exceptional Helmet

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Customer avatar
Vyjk
State:VA
Rider Type:Moto Enthusiast
Age:25-34
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Protection & Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Air Flow 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Loud
Weight
Light
Very Light
Heavy
Shape
Narrow
Intermediate Oval
Round
Vision
Narrow
Exceptionally Wide
Wide
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I switched to this one from Scorpion EXO 900 for fit reasons.
Scorpion was too narrow for me and this one fits me perfectly. Even after hours of riding I don't feel that headache I did with Scorpion.
I'm still in the process of breaking this helmet in so it's a bit tight on my cheeks but I suspect it would fit better in a while.
It does have 5mm removable sponge foam layer on both cheek pads so even if it does feel tight after a while, there is an option before buying thinner cheek pads (comes in 5mm increments; stock with medium is 30)
Only thing that bothers me is that the visor it came with, and the extra tinted one I purchased, fogs up quite easily. I'll be applying some anti fog solution on both but I did not have to for the Scorpion.
Wind flow is excellent. It actually feels like there is wind going through my hair. Noise level is on par with Scorpion which is pretty quite. I suspect this helmet is even quieter when riding with vents closed but I wasn't able to ride like that for long because of the fog in my visors.
There is enough room for glasses/sunglasses or speakers for communication devices to fit comfortably without much pressure points building up.
This helmet feels incredibly light when riding. It is also extremely easy to turn side to side. Peripheral vision is amazing as well.
Overall I would recommend this helmet wholeheartedly, especially during this Holiday sales. 460 dollars and 20 dollars of revzilla cash for next purchase for this helmet is a steal.
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Vyjk
Virginia
Update
Posted April 11, 2012
I had a lowside wearing this helmet at around 45 mph.
I slid first then rolled three times then slid again face down.
Helmet was banged around many times during the whole thing.
Aside from minor bruises I came out of it alright.
Overall the helmet came out of it alright as well. It is still wearable. And if it wasn't I would buy this helmet again, this crash has only solidified that sentiment.
The portion below the visor was scratched quite severely, enough to eat away a few millimeters of the helmet.
If I hadn't been wearing anything but a full face helmet, I'm sure I would have needed severe jaw work.
I still love this helmet.
Dress for the crash and enjoy your rides.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 18 for Arai RX-Q Italy Helmet
This review is fromArai RX-Q Talon Helmet (Red / 2XL).
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This helmet is great. Great vision, great ventilation, good fit.

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Customer avatar
Walter F.
From CASTRO VALLEY
State:CA
Rider Type:Road Warrior
Age:Over 65
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Protection & Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Air Flow 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Noise Level
Quiet
Slightly Loud
Loud
Weight
Light
Average
Heavy
Shape
Narrow
Intermediate Oval
Round
Vision
Narrow
Wide
Wide
This is the best helmet I have owned in many years. Probably the best I ever had so far! There is unbelievable ventilation even on a bike that has a big windscreen there is airflow through the vents. The fit is just right. I would recommend trying an Arai to anyone I know who is looking for a new helmet. The wide view is amazing. I can see to my left and right like I have not been able to do in the past. Thanks Arai for building such a good product.
Rides: 2002 BMW R1150RT
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Arai RX-Q Italy Helmet
This review is fromArai RX-Q Duetet Helmet.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Package

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Customer avatar
Scalku
From Bozeman, MT
State:MT
Rider Type:Road Warrior
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Protection & Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Air Flow 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fit
Small
Slightly Large
Large
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Loud
Weight
Light
Light
Heavy
Shape
Narrow
Round Oval
Round
Vision
Narrow
Exceptionally Wide
Wide
I decided on the RQ-Q because I ride a supermoto setup... I didn't want a bill, and I wanted a upright to 3/4 upright position type of helmet to suit. I also live in Montana so I wanted something that would cope with some cold weather and I don't want to compensate for safety features and was willing to pay extra for something I know will keep my dome intact if I ever run myself into something.
The color scheme is awesome, and there are multiple layers of very high quality paints used in the mix. the shell has nearly zero flex to it and all of the vents are very sturdy and just have an overall quality -even if they are designed to break off in a crash? (I would have never guessed). All the vents are easy to use with gloves on and the locking of the faceshield was a bit to get used to, but I LOVE it. I upgraded to a mirrored faceshield and makes the helmet look even cooler. I have yet to pair this with my Leatt brace (offroad; not the weird street one), but I test fit a Leatt w/ other helmets with a larger "footprint" for the size and this shouldn't have any problems. very comfortable in my opinion so far and I'm looking forward to the years I'll be rocking this sweet helmet.
Rides: 2005 Honda CRF450R
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Arai RX-Q Italy Helmet
This review is fromArai RX-Q Helmet - Solid.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Features on any helmet

PostedSeptember 4, 2011
Customer avatar
SpeedyTres
From San Diego
State:CA
Rider Type:Moto Enthusiast
Age:18-24
Gender:male
Bang for the Buck 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Style 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Protection & Durability 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Air Flow 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Loud
Weight
Light
Light
Heavy
Vision
Narrow
Exceptionally Wide
Wide
If you want the overall best helmet for the street, this is it. I've had my RX-Q for 5500 miles, from the desert in NV to the chilly nights in San Francisco. Ventilation is more than ideal for any circumstance, whether you want heavy air flow or just enough air for your visor not to fog up on a cold day.
Noise isn't bad and it's very comfortable. Very adjustable with the cheek thickness selections. I have a black RX-Q with a clear and tinted visor and thats all ill ever need.
Rides: 2011 Triumph Speed Triple
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>